Sunday Breakdown 1.1.12

It’s a new year! Full of new adventures, new challenges, new joys, new everything! That being said, I’ve got a lot of “new” things I hope to do and a lot of changes to old stuff as well. I’m not big on resolutions, but I do want to be big on life change. I’ll post more about that later. Maybe if I put some of my goals out in public it will make me a bit more accountable and you guys can help me! So, new starts…a new year at LIFE Church. We moved forward with our normal service times this morning and as expected, attendance was down. Lots of people sleeping in and recovering from the late night last night, I’m sure! Pastor Greg shared a great message called “Player or Participant” and it was a great challenge to start the new year. I tried to tie our set list in with the greatness of God and how with that we should run with all we have, actually get IN the game and be a player! So, here was our set…

Yours Forever (Hillsong) – This is such a fun opener declaring our allegiance to God! “God, we are YOURS forever!” And with starting the new year, it was great to be able to sing, “we’ll never be the same/our eyes won’t turn away”.

–Welcome/Announcements–

Like A Lion (Daniel Bashta/Kristian Stanfill Version) – This is a new song for LIFE Church. We did it a couple of weeks ago, so this was only our second time doing it. I love this song, especially the breaks going into the choruses! Our God is not dead, He is SURELY alive!

Glory To God Forever (Fee) – This is a favorite of LIFE Church. We’ve been doing it for a long time and it never fails to connect with the people and truly helps us engage in true worship!

Forever Reign (Hillsong) – This song was especially powerful today. I have had a horrible week this past week and was dealing some personal stuff and God really met me in this song as I was preparing for the services throughout the week. It was so refreshing and reassuring to sing “You are good when there’s nothing good in me/You are peace when my fear is crippling/You are true even in my wandering”! And then to be able to sing the chorus “I’m running to your arms, the riches of your love will always be enough”!

–Pastor Greg;’s Message–

With Everything (Hillsong) – One of my top three songs right now. My good friend Joel calls it the “Indian Song” because of the part where we do the “wo-oh-oh-oh-oh”. It’s just such a powerful song, talking about shouting for the glory of God and then doing it. It’s exactly as the scripture commands in Psalm 98, verse 4, “Shout for joy to the Lord, all the earth, burst into jubilant song with music”.

–Dismissal–

That was our set this week. I thought it was a great morning and I feel sorry for the people who weren’t there : ) because those of us that were there had an awesome time of corporate worship together!

Josh

*This post is part of  the “Sunday Setlists” blog carnival hosted at TheWorshipCommunity.Com

~ by rhinorun on January 1, 2012.

4 Responses to “Sunday Breakdown 1.1.12”

  1. Awesome start to the new year, brother! I agree with you totally that those who didn’t make it really missed a great time of worship. Thanks for all you do – and thanks for being transparent and sharing your struggles. A great reminder that we need to lift you & Jason & all the staff up in prayer daily. Have a great week! Already looking forward to you leading us straight to the throne room next Sunday morning!

  2. Awesome service! Hope your week is better next week. Love your family so much!!!

  3. Forever Reign is my one my favorites right now as well. It certainly frames everything that happens here on planet earth knowing that our God indeed reigns!

    Blessings in the new year Josh.

    Terry

  4. Dont give up on your blogging! http://www.segmation.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

 
