I think I can, I think I can

So, if you know me well at all, you know that I LOVE Dr. Pepper. I mean, I absolutely LOVE Dr. Pepper. I would venture to say that I’m somewhat addicted. I would be scared to see how much Dr. Pepper I actually drink.

Also, if you know me well at all, you know that I suffer from pretty horrible migraine headaches. When I get a really bad migraine, usually it means throwing up a couple of times and being confined to the bed with everything dark and quiet, not even being able to sleep because of the pain.

I’ve had the migraines for years. I vividly remember one of the first migraines I ever had. I was about 6 years old and was spending the day with my grandparents. We had gone to the flea market (which was a huge past-time for my grandfather) and they had gotten me some dry-roasted peanuts and a blue slushee. Well, on the way back to their house my head began hurting REALLY bad. We made it back to their house and I lost it. You can guess it…blue puke!

I’ve gone to the doctor off and on over the years for all kinds of different prescriptions, but I had not been in several years. So, last week I finally went back to the doctor. I hated the fact that I had to wait forever, but I love the approach of my doctor. We want to get to the bottom of the headaches, not just treat the symptoms. Yes, I got some new prescriptions to help, but I also got specific instructions. Back to the first paragraph. I love my Dr. Pepper, but I have to give it up for at least TWO MONTHS! It’s going to be hard, but I’m committed to it and I know I can do it.

Currently, I’m on day #8 with absolutely no caffeine or carbonated beverages at all! The first 3 days were pretty miserable, headaches every day. 4th and 5th days were tough, I didn’t have much energy and was somewhat on edge and kind of “out of it”. I’m happy to say though, that starting with day 6, I’ve begun feeling somewhat “normal” again.

So, as the little engine that could said, “I think I can, I think I can, I think I can, I know I can, I know I can”!!!!!

Josh

~ by rhinorun on February 11, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
