Sunday Breakdown 9.27.09

“Go on take the money and run!”

We wrapped up “F Words” this week by talking about “Finances”. What a challenging message from Jason about needing to have our 3 plans in place! We need our spending plan, our saving plan, and our giving plan!

From a music/programming standpoint, it turned out to be a great morning! Things were a little hairy right up until time for the service to start, but once we got going, things went really well! It was sooo good to have Matt Conway back with us. It’s amazing the energy he brings to the stage and how contagious his worship is!

Well, here’s our set list…

Take the Money and Run (Steve Miller Band) – We try to do cover tunes to help emphasize our the message as much as possible and when I found out we were doing a message on Finances, I knew we had to do this song. As it got closer, I started re-considering my options, but couldn’t get away from this song! I REALLY enjoyed playing and singing this song. If I don’t say so myself, I think we did a bang-up job on it!

Our God Is Love (Lee McDerment) – I love this song, but I think we may retire it for a while. It just doesn’t seem to flow as well with Life Church for some reason. I’m sure we’ll pull it out some more, but not right now.

Blessed Be Your Name (Matt Redman) – This is a bit of an older song, been around for a while, but totally appropriate for the message. It is such a GREAT song, to be honest, I had forgotten how powerful it could be!

Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus Medley (Third Day-bootleg version) – Sorry this song isn’t linked. I can’t find an online version of this medley anywhere. It’s from an old bootleg recording of Third Day I have. Basically it’s the old song “Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus”, but then it goes into part of the Elvis/UB40 song, “I Can’t Help Falling in Love With You”, and then goes into the U2 song, “With Or Without You”, before going back into “Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus”. I’ll try to get a video of it up soon.

-Jason’s Message-

You Are God Alone (Billy & Cindy Foote) – Another perfect song for this message. “You’re the only God who’s worthy of everything we can give/You are God, that’s just the way it is.”

Alive and Running (Kristian Stanfill) – I LOVE THIS SONG! This is such a fun song to lead! You need to definitely download this song, and actually get the whole album!

I loved this set!

Alright, question of the week, what is your favorite Steve Miller Band song?

Josh

this post is part of the “Sunday Setlist” blog carnival over at FredMcKinnon.com. Go check it out!

~ by rhinorun on September 28, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
