Sunday Breakdown 7.19.09

Wow, what a week!

This was week #3 of our Jump! series. I was very pleased with how everything went…especially considering the start we got off to on Sunday morning. Our service starts at 10:00 and at about 8:15-8:30 I got a phone call and a text from 2 of our key production people saying they weren’t going to be able to be there (I hate sickness!). So, in the midst of having to teach one of the musicians a totally new song, I now had to recruit (semi-train) some new people for the needed positions. This is something we’ve been trying to prepare for, but we’re not quite there yet. You can believe me though, we’re gonna get there QUICK now though! The cool thing to me, I love seeing God show up and show out in the midst of our frustrations and so called “crisis” times! It was definitely a humbling and encouraging time! So, in the midst of the craziness of the morning, here was our setlist…

Jump (Van Halen) – Once again we started the service off with the old Van Halen classic. I’m still not doing the David Lee Roth jump move, sorry guys! I’m really digging our arrangement of this song though. Not sure if Haden has video’d this one yet, but if he has…I’ll get him to put it up on youtube or vimeo.

Song Of Hope (Robbie Seay Band) – One of my favorite songs right now, bottom line. Great song, great hook, and a great promise to cling to!

From The Inside Out (Hillsong/Kristian Stanfill version) – We introduced this song this week. I absolutely love it and know that it will become a regular at Life Church in the weeks and months to come.

It Is Well (Todd Fields version) – I’ve said before how much I love old hymns having a new flavor to them, well Mandy and I agreed this is probably our favorite “re-done” hymn to date. I absolutely love the additional chorus from Todd Fields! “It is well/it is well/through the storm I am held/it is well/it is well with my soul/it is well/it is well/God has won/Christ prevailed/it is well/it is well with my soul”. I mean, how can you not like that!!! Great job Todd Fields!

-Jason’s Message-

Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus Medley (Third Day Version-with a little hint of Elvis/Ub40 and U2) – Sorry for no link on this song. I have googled and googled but can’t find this medley anywhere. It’s from an old bootleg recording I have of Third Day playing at “The Strand” right after they were first signed, probably circa 1994 or so? The medley starts off with the song “Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus” and then goes into a part from the song “I Can’t Help Falling In Love With You” (originally by Elvis Presley, but covered in the early ’90’s by UB40), then it goes into a part of the chorus of “With or Without You” by U2 and finally goes back into “Turn Your Eyes”. Altogether, a VERY cool medley with some great lyrics tying into Jason’s message about Jumping in and giving, taking the focus of off ourselves and focusing on God and what He can do!!

Alive and Running (Kristian Stanfill) – We closed the service with this song, great tune from Kristian Stanfill! Such a great song to leave with. I loved walking around the rest of the day singing “we’re alive and running to the world!”

Come on, talk to me…what’s your favorite song right now. I know you’re reading this, so COMMENT!!

Josh

this post is part of the “Sunday Setlist” blog carnival over at FredMcKinnon.com. Go check it out!

~ by rhinorun on July 22, 2009.

4 Responses to “Sunday Breakdown 7.19.09”

  1. the coolest song on the planet has to be Psalm 63 it’s available on itunes for free (as a podcast)

    search for mars hill church / mars hillbillies

  2. Sounds like a great list man. This Sunday I’m leading at a church in Atlanta and we are doing these songs:

    All Because of Jesus (Fee)
    Mighty To Save (Hillsong)
    Healer (Kari Jobe)
    Jesus Messiah (Tomlin)
    How Great Is Our God (Tomlin)

    Keep doing it man, hope your vacation is a great one.

  3. I think my favorite worship song right now is Healer, done by Kari Jobe, really powerful song, but the new David Crowder song How He Loves is growing on me fast.

    • Sounds like that was a great set Chris! As far as the new tunes, Is that the same “Healer” song from Hillsong (Planetshakers)? If you like Crowder’s version of “How He Loves”, you should check out the original by John Mark McMillan, POWERFUL!! Take care man!

      Josh

Leave a Reply

 
