Sunday Breakdown 7.12.09

Today we Week 2 of our “Jump!” series. Today Mark nailed it with a message on Jumping into service. What a great message and a great motivator to Jump in to service to help change our town for Kingdom of God!!

All in all, I thought we had a great morning. There were a couple of transitions between songs that I wish would have went a little differently, but we’ll improve on those for next time! It was fun, we did “Jump” by Van Halen again (we’ll be doing it every week of the series). We also got to cover another song at the end, “If We Are The Body” by Casting Crowns. This was a special request from Mark to tie in with his message. It’s kind of funny going from covering Van Halen to covering Casting Crowns in one morning, but definitely fun!

Here’s the setlist from this morning…

Jump (Van Halen) – Still thinking about breaking out the white pants and trying to infamous David Lee Roth jump!

Salvation is Here (Hillsong) – Great song, we’ve been doing this song since the very first Sunday of Life Church, and it’s still a song people really connect with!

Overcome (Lee McDerment) – I love Lee McDerment’s music. This is a great song of his, however the jury is still out for me on how this song is going over at Life. Not sure yet if it will make it to regular rotation status?

Let Me Sing (Todd Fields) – Couldn’t believe it. I’ve played this song a thousand times, but for some reason, this morning I started playing the intro and then realized I couldn’t remember the words for the first verse. Arggh, I hate it when things lie that happen, but it is very humbling and refreshing to know that God is so much bigger than anything I could ever do on my own!

-Mark’s Message-

Take My Life (Chris Tomlin) – Great old hymn, with a new punch on the chorus! I love the power of this song, especially coming out of the message Mark had just preached!

If We Are The Body (Casting Crowns) – This was a special request from Mark. I’ve loved this song since the first time I heard it, but this was the first time I’d ever been able to play it. Considering this was the first time we had ever played it, I thought it went VERY well!

That was our setlist…tell me about yours?

Josh

this post is part of the “Sunday Setlist” blog carnival over at FredMcKinnon.com. Go check it out!

~ by rhinorun on July 12, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
