Sunday Breakdown 3.29.09

This week we did “The Wedding Wrap-up” (renewing your vows). It was a great week! I really enjoyed our wedding series, but I am glad it’s over. I am anxious to get to the next series!

Overall, from a musical standpoint, this week went very well. The set list went very well and there weren’t any major technical difficulties! Being a portable church, when we don’t have technical difficulties, that’s a huge win! So, here’s the set list…

All Because of Jesus (Fee) – We’ve done this song a TON. I try to rest it as much as possible, but it’s hard because of how well our church seems to embrace it! I think we may shelve it for a while though…what do you think?

Everything (Chris Tomlin) – I really enjoy the structure of this song. I like the way it starts with just the simple acoustic riff and then everybody comes in on the straight 8th notes through the pre-chorus into the chorus. It really drives and runs!

We Are Alive (Elevation Worship) – It was nice pulling this song out again, it had been a while since we had done it. I love the funky intro for this song and it was nice having the bass double up on top of the electric intro line!

Lift High (Eddie Kirkland) – I LOVE this song. Such powerful lyrics on top of some powerful melodies! If you haven’t heard this songs…go download it NOW!

-Jason’s Message-

Amazing Grace (My Chains Are Gone) (Chris Tomlin) – Once again, I love the old hymns especially when they’re spruced up a little bit. This, to me, is the perfect example of sprucing up an old hymn!

Alive and Running (Kristian Stanfill) – We introduced this song this week. I absolutely love this song, and I would probably play it every week if people wouldn’t get tired of it! I played electric guitar on this song. This was the first time I had ever played electric while leading worship and I found myself being very preoccupied with making sure I was playing it right. I am anxious to do this song some more to help give me some confidence with the electric guitar!

Well, that was our set. What did you think? (Thanks for the comment last week Mesha! Jason, you need to leave one this week!)

Josh

~ by rhinorun on March 31, 2009.

2 Responses to “Sunday Breakdown 3.29.09”

  1. Awesome job Sunday! The whole time I was saying to myself, “what’s that extra, Bright red, electric guitar doing up there?” Then when you put it on I knew, “the holy ghost was about to get wild up in here!” Have you been playing Guitar Hero again??

  2. OK–Here’s my comment: GREAT JOB!!!

Leave a Reply

 
