The Follow Up

So today I got to do something I had never done before. If you saw my last post, you saw that I got to go do some vocal coaching today with some middle school boys.

Well….I had a blast. I was working with the bass guys. They were having problems projecting and maintaining tone in their upper register.

When I first got there, the choir sang their two songs for me ( I could immediately point out the weak spots for the guys). After they performed the two songs, I got to work with the guys for about 15-20 minutes. I was so proud, after working with them for that short time they went back out and the choir sang the songs again. It sounded SO much better. It was so cool to see the other members of the choir cheering for these guys because of how much better they were projecting and maintaining tone!

By no means, do I feel I deserve all the credit. The biggest thing, is that the guys were much more confident after us spending the time together. Yes, technique and vocal tricks can make a difference but confidence is HUGE! I’m sure there will be another blog post to come out of this, so be looking!

We’re planning on this being a weekly thing, so I’ll keep you updated as to how the guys continue to progress!

Josh

~ by rhinorun on March 12, 2009.

One Response to “The Follow Up”

  1. Good job. I’m proud you are using your training. Which Middle School? Aiming to start a boy choir in Rome?

Leave a Reply

 
